50 Books

yUrhY
Compiling this was way harder than I thought because I had to exclude some…well, many…and prioritize *gasps*.  So many books…

Not in order of any importance except perhaps the first 6, or 7 or so…more or less…yanno?

It’s interesting too, as I was doing this, I noticed how each and every title transported me back to the first time I read it (because many of these have been read more than twice or even thrice)….where I was physically and emotionally in my life.  Just like music does for me.

Fun to see what others have on their list thanks to Illuminary’s List of 50.

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird ~ Harper Lee
  2. Like Water for Chocolate ~ Laura Esquivel
  3. All things Asimov
  4. All things Heinlein
  5. The Little Prince ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  6. Walden ~ Henry David Thoreau
  7. The Red Tent ~ Anita Diamant
  8. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn ~ Mark Twain
  9. The Secret Garden ~ Frances Hodgson Burnett
  10. Love in the Time of Cholera ~ Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  11. One Hundred Years of Solitude ~ Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  12. Anam Cara ~ John O’donnohue
  13. Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland ~ Lewis Carroll
  14. Little House in the Big Woods ~ Laura Ingalls Wilder
  15. The Gate to Women’s Country ~ Sherri S Tepper
  16. In the Time of Butterflies ~ Julia Álvarez
  17. Gone With the Wind ~ Margret Mitchell
  18. Beloved ~ Toni Morrison
  19. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings ~ Maya Angelou
  20. Prodigal Summer ~ Barbara Kingsolver
  21. Fahrenheit 451 ~ Ray Bradbury
  22. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn ~ Betty Smith
  23. The Jungle Book ~  Rudyard Kipling
  24. Jane Eyre ~ Charlotte Bronte
  25. A Midsummers Night Dream ~ William Shakespeare
  26. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe ~ C. S. Lewis
  27. Where the Wild Things Are ~ Maurice Sendak
  28. A Wrinkle in Time ~ Madeleine L’Engle
  29. A Christmas Carol ~ Charles Dickens
  30. Pippi Longstocking ~ Astrid Lindgren
  31. The Hobbit ~ J. R. R. Tolkien
  32. The House of Spirits ~ Isabel Allende
  33. The Wind in the Willows ~ Kenneth Grahame
  34. Winnie the Pooh ~ A. A. Milne
  35. Sons and Lovers ~ D. H Lawrence
  36. Wuthering Heights ~ Emily Bronte
  37. The Good Earth ~ Pearl S Buck
  38. Atlas Shrugged ~ Ayn Rand
  39. Memoirs of a Geisha ~ Arthur Golden
  40. The 4 Agreements ~ Don Miguel Ruiz
  41. The Milagro Bean Field Wars ~ John Nichols
  42. The Handmaidens Tail ~ Margret Atwood
  43. Left Hand of Darkness ~ Ursla LaGuin
  44. Gift of the Good Land ~ Wendell Berry
  45. How the García Girls Lost Their Accents ~ Julia Alvarez
  46. The Help ~ Kathryn Sockett
  47. Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl ~ Anne Frank
  48. The Grapes of Wrath ~ John Steinbeck
  49. Catch 22 ~Joseph Heller
  50. Slaughterhouse Five ~ Kurt Vonnegut
This entry was posted in introverts r me, Passion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 50 Books

  1. I am just about done with ” in the time of butterflies”, and of course, ~laughing~
    I have just ordered all the other books the library has of hers!
    YUM!
    Thank you! this is wonderful!

  2. Oh, I love your List! so many of those I had to place aside, like the good earth, I have 4 different copies of that book, and I love Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and you listed 2! It took me all day to slash my list down..I almost put “bringing it to the table” by wendell berry, But nobody noticed I had 51 books! ~laughing~

Leave a Reply

