Buried Memories

He knew nothing about me. We had only talked briefly on the phone.

“Yes,” I told him, “Arms crossed. Facing east. Thank you, I understand. Here’s the number. I’ll get back with the arrangements.”

We met formally in the afternoon a few weeks later.

The Ute Elder asked, “Do the plants talk to you, Little One?” His voice was soft. But it demanded an answer.

I looked downward, averting my eyes partially in respect, but much more in discomfort at his question. I replied sadly, “No, they don’t.”

As I slowly looked back up, his eyes cut me like a shards of glass.

“Perhaps you need to listen more closely, Little One.”

Yes, perhaps I do…

This entry was posted in Life Interrupted and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buried Memories

  1. Sorrow says:

    And so the universe is still speaking softly to you..
    :)

    Like

speak!

