Russian Mushroom Potato Soup

Since I am alone this week, I can eat the way I need and want to.  I’m not a heavy meat eater anymore, especially after living in Hawaii.  My diet for nearly two years consisted of fish, miso, fresh fruits of mostly Papaya, Mango and Banana, kimchi, dairy, chicken in very small potions and of course, some kind of starch.  Rice or noodle, pasta, and sweet Hawaiian or Portuguese breads.

Coming back into a heavy meat eating household has been difficult. This week I eat alone. Something I loathe doing. But starving is not an option. Neither is eating out.

A friend passed some of the soup she made last week to me.  I nearly didn’t get any, it was that good, lol.

This is what I’m having for the next few days even tho I’ve cut the recipe in half…the other bane of eating alone…terminal leftovers.

Under an hour from start to finish. This can be cut in half easily and is very versatile.  No leeks…use an onion. No carrots, leave them out.  Whatevah.  The dill is essential so make sure you have plenty.  Great too with a quick dark rye loaf.  No and low fat subs don’t sacrifice taste (but I don’t use ’em).  Since I like a thicker soup than what this makes (very thin), I will up the flour a bit. The notations are from my food buddy.

INGREDIENTS:

5 tablespoons butter, divided

2 leeks, chopped (used about 3/4 onion)

2 large carrots, sliced

1 large clove chopped garlic (doesn’t seem right to cook without it)

6 cups chicken broth

2 teaspoons dried dill weed

2 teaspoons salt

1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 bay leaf

2 pounds potatoes, peeled and diced (didn’t have that much when I shared with you and I didn’t peel them either)

1 pound fresh mushrooms, sliced  (used a combination of button & baby bella’s)

1 cup half-and-half

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

fresh dill weed, for garnish (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Melt 3 tablespoons butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Sautee leeks, carrots, and garlic 5 minutes. Add broth. Season with dill, salt, pepper, and bay leaf.  Add potatoes, cover, and cook 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender but firm.  Remove and discard the bay leaf.

2. Melt the remaining butter in a skillet over medium heat, and saute the mushrooms 5 minutes, until lightly browned. Stir into the soup.

3. In a small bowl, mix the half-and-half and flour until smooth. Stir into the soup and cook 3 additional minutes tho thicken.  Garnish each bowl of soup with fresh dill to serve.

This entry was posted in Along the Continuum. Bookmark the permalink.

speak!

